Vidasym Team has advanced multiple therapeutics into clinical development

Alan Lau, Pharm. D. – CEO

Dr. Lau is one of the co-founders of Vidasym. He has conducted over 50 Phase I-IV studies in CKD covering therapeutics such as vitamin D receptor modulators, phosphate binders and others. He serves on the Board of Directors and also as the Renal Scientific Section Chairman of the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics.  He also serves as Vice-chairman of Nephrology/Urology Expert Committee, United States Pharmacopeia (USP).  Dr. Lau obtained his Doctor of Pharmacy degree at State University of New York at Buffalo, and completed a clinical pharmacy residency at University of Illinois, Chicago.

J. Ruth Wu-Wong, MBA, PhD – President/CSO

Ruth was with Abbott (now AbbVie) for 20+ years where she played a key role in the development of endothelin receptor antagonists including atrasentan which is in clinical studies for diabetic nephropathy.  She was the lead scientist on several novel-target projects at Abbott including the vitamin D receptor agonist project until the project’s termination in 2007.  Dr. Wu-Wong obtained her Ph.D. in biochemistry from Ohio State University and her M.B.A. in finance and management from University of Illinois.

Jim Hussey, MBA – Board Director

Mr.  Hussey has 25+ years of experience in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industry as executive, founder, investor and consultant to senior management and boards of directors. Mr. Hussey served as President of Sagent Pharmaceuticals in 2013-2015, and as CEO/President of NanoInk in 2008-2013. Prior to NanoInk, he was with Ovation Pharmaceuticals, where he was a member of the senior operating committee, serving as Head of Alliances and Vice President of Corporate Development. He was President and CEO of NeoPharm, Inc., as well as a member of the Board of Directors and an investor/shareholder. In 1994, he founded Physicians Quality Care, a health care services IPA Management Company, which was sold to a public company in 1998. Prior to founding Physicians Quality Care, he was with Bristol Myers Squibb in Princeton, New Jersey, serving as General Manager as well as other positions in marketing, new business development and sales. Mr. Hussey holds a B.S. in Pharmacy from Butler University, Indianapolis, Indiana, and an M.B.A. from University of Illinois at Chicago.

Daniel Norbeck, PhD – Board Director

Dr. Norbeck was  with Abbott (now AbbVie) for 24 years, and was Abbott’s Corporate Officer and Vice President of Global Pharmaceutical Discovery. He is co-inventor of Norvir and Kaletra, two ground-breaking medicines used in the treatment of HIV/AIDS. Dr. Norbeck earned a Ph.D. in synthetic organic chemistry from the California Institute of Technology.

Terry Opgenorth, PhD – Board Director

Dr. Opgenorth previously served as an advisor for Vidasym and joined Vidasym as CEO in 2009 until 12/2015.  He continues to serve on Vidasym’s board as a board member and also as a scientific advisor. He was  with Abbott (now AbbVie) for 20 years where he had direct-line responsibility for more than 200 scientists and multiple drug discovery projects as Divisional Vice President of Metabolic Disease Research, Antiviral Research and Target-Lead Discovery Research, and was a Research Fellow in Abbott’s Volwiler Society. He championed several biotech collaborations, and led teams that advanced a number of drug candidates in to clinical development with atrasentan reaching NDA filing and a number of others in active clinical development. He serves as a Board member for Colorado Bioscience Association, the Colorado Drugs, Devices, and Diagnostics Development Institute, and KromaTiD Inc.  He is Scientific Advisory Board member for Keystone Symposia and Euroscreen, SA, Section Editor for Current Opinions in Investigational Drugs, and consultant to several biotech and venture capital firms. He is an author on 130 peer-reviewed publications, 9 book chapters or reviews, and an inventor on 3 patent applications. Dr. Opgenorth holds M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Physiology from University of Illinois-Urbana.

CMC – Ocam Solutions, LLC

Regulatory – Clinipace Worldwide

+ Various medical and other technical expert advisors (Dr. Masahide Mizobuchi, MD/nephrologist; Dr. Jin Tian, MD/nephrologist; Ms. Nancy Chou, clinical study project manager)

Laboratory at UIC Incubator Lab Facility